Jurors will not receive payment for their first day of service, including sworn jurors who sit on a one-day trial. The fee for jurors in the superior court, in civil and criminal cases, is fifteen dollars ($15.00) per day starting with the second and subsequent days of actual jury service. Unless the juror waives reimbursement of mileage, all jurors shall be reimbursed for mileage at the rate of ($.34) per mile one-way from their home to the courthouse. Yolo County automatically calculates mileage using the juror's zip code from their place of residence.
Notice to Government Employees: According to legislation signed by the Governor in August 2004, a government employee is not entitled to receive the $15 per diem portion of jury pay for serving jury duty.
The code reads as follows: “If you are employed by a federal, state or local government entity or by any other public entity such as city, county, the Regents of the University of California, district, including school and special districts, public authority, public agency, or any other political subdivision or public corporation in the state (CCP§481.200), and he/she receives regular compensation and benefits from his/her employer while performing jury service..." It further states that, “Government employees are still entitled to receive mileage reimbursement unless the mileage fee is specifically waived."
Verification of Service
The Work Verification form, which the employee/juror gives to their employer, as proof of service will be available for pick up from the Jury Services Offices at the end of your service. If you are selected as a seated juror on a trial, you are to pick up your work verification form from the Jury Services Office at the completion of your service. The proof of service form will be inclusive of all the days you actually appeared for jury service. Even if your employer does not require proof of service, it is always advisable to pick up a form anyway for your own personal records. In addition, if you receive a summons from either the District or Federal Court within one year of serving in Yolo County, you will need a copy of your proof of service to attach to their summons to prove you have already fulfilled your jury service obligation for one year.
Notice To Employer CCP§230(a)
Your employer must allow you time off to serve on a jury. This is the law. Under the California Labor Code Section 230 (a), “No employer shall discharge or in any manner discriminate against an employee for taking time off to serve as required by law on an inquest or trial jury, if such employee, prior to taking such time off, gives reasonable notice to the employer of the requirement to serve." School employees and students are protected, as well, in different parts of the law. You should contact the court if you have a problem with your employer because of jury service. Please remember that if the time of service is not a convenient time, you can postpone your service one time by following the instructions on your jury summons.